Rocky Road Brownies

I’ve been searching for awhile to find the perfect vegan and gluten free brownie recipe, nothing. There are a few options out there, but none of them looked that appealing to me. I can always tell if I’m going to like the dessert by the ingredients and the delicious picture right above it. Nothing looks gooey, moist, and cakey enough for the brownie I had in mind. I decided to experiment in the kitchen. I wanted a little more oomph to the basic brownie, so why not add some marshmallows? Better yet chocolate sandwich cookies, chocolate chunks, peanuts, and marshmallows. Vegan, gluten free, refined sugar free and yet my perfect brownie. Don’t forget to share 😉

2 flax eggs (2 T ground flax seeds + 6 T water)

1/2 cup vegan melted butter

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup almond milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup cocoa powder

3/4 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup almond meal

1/3 cup chopped chocolate sandwich cookies (I use K-Toos brand)

1/2 cup chopped peanuts (raw, roasted, salted, or unsalted doesn’t matter)

2/3 cup vegan chocolate chunks (I use Enjoy Life brand)

A few handfuls of vegan mini marshmallows to top ( I use Dandies brand)

Coconut oil for coating the pan

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees fahrenheit and bake for 25 minutes

I usually start by grabbing a small bowl to get the flax eggs (2 T flax + 6 T water) going (they take a minute or so the gelatinize). Then melt the cubed butter in the microwave for about 20 seconds and stir. Mix the maple syrup into the butter along with the vanilla extract. Begin chopping all the delicious add-ins (peanuts and cookies) and set aside in a small bowl. Now mix the all the dry ingredients (baking powder, salt, cocoa powder, flour, and almond meal) together in a medium bowl. Combine the flax egg with the wet ingredients and then in with the dry. Lastly, add the chocolate chunks, peanuts, and cookies into the batter. Pour into a greased 8×8 pan and bake!

Allow them to completely cool before serving at least to room temperature. Then, I usually stick mine in the freezer to speed up the process.

Leave a Reply

